The changes will mean that communications with businesses by WhatsApp users — whether by email, phone or WhatsApp itself — will be visible to the application.
For the past several weeks, WhatsApp says it has displayed a notification within the app, providing more information about the update.
"After giving everyone time to review, we're continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept," the statement said.
At this point, the functionality of the app will become limited. Chat lists will not be accessible though users will be able to answer incoming phone and video calls.
But after a few more weeks, no calls or notifications will arrive.
"You can export your chats and download a report of your account on your own. If you need help downloading a report of your account or deleting your account, you can contact us here," the statement said.
Inactive accounts will be deleted after 120 days as per an existing WhatsApp policy.
"If you’d like to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS, we hope you reconsider. Deleting your account is something we can’t reverse as it erases your message history, removes you from all of your WhatsApp groups, and deletes your WhatsApp backups," the statement added.